High School

RHS Events

Events for week of August 3, 2020

This Week Navigation

Loading Events
Mon 3rd
No Events Today
Tue 4th
No Events Today
Wed 5th
No Events Today
Thu 6th
No Events Today
Fri 7th
No Events Today
Sat 8th
No Events Today
Sun 9th
No Events Today

Links

RHS News

Back to School |  Welcome Back Letter Friday, July 24, 2020

Dear Roxana High School Parents,

I hope this letter finds you well, enjoying your summer.  We are looking forward to our students return as final preparations are made for the start of the 2020-2021 school year at RHS.  I want to thank everyone for going through our required registration process online this summer.  Your time and commitment are greatly appreciated.  If you have not yet registered your child for the upcoming year, the online registration window has been re-opened through July. Please access the following link to register your child(ren): https://www.roxanaschools.org/parents/online-student-registration-information/ 

If needed, there will be an in-person option for Registration on Tuesday, August 4, 2020 in the High School Main Office from 8:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

As we look to reopen our school doors for the upcoming school year, I understand many of you may be experiencing a wide array of emotions related to this new school year.  Please know that the decisions and procedures have been established with the well-being of our students and teachers at the forefront.  

While we are in Phase 4 of the Illinois Department of Public Health’s plan, Roxana Senior High School will reopen (as required by the State of Illinois and the Illinois State Board of Education) with the following procedures in place:

  • RHS will reopen with a “Hybrid” / Blended Schedule consisting of both in-person and remote learning.
  • Families have the option to choose remote learning only.  Families opting for remote learning only must commit for the quarter and may not opt back and forth between in-person and remote. The deadline for Remote Learning Only Registration is Friday, July 31, 2020.  There will be a “Remote Learning Only” Distribution Day(s) the week of August 10 to distribute Chromebooks and other required school supplies. 
  • The Hybrid/Blended Schedule will consist of:
    • Students with last names A-L attending in-person on Monday and Thursday and remote (from home) on Tuesday and Friday.  (These days were chosen to reduce the number of days students go without in-person instruction)
    • Students with last names M-Z attending remote (from home) on Monday and Thursday and in-person on Tuesday and Friday.  (These days were again chosen to reduce the number of days students go without in-person instruction) 
    • Wednesday will be a Remote Learning Day for all students. This will allow our custodians and maintenance team an opportunity to thoroughly clean and disinfect the school mid-week in addition to the daily cleaning and disinfecting that will take place. 
    • Families (households) with different last names may attend on the same day.  Contact the main office at 254-7550 to make arrangements. 
    • Students with IEPs and 504 Plans may attend in-person every day to ensure accommodations are met. 
    • Seniors may opt to only take courses required for high school graduation.  Students are encouraged to meet with their guidance counselor to discuss potential impacts of this option (ie., dual credit, class rank, etc.)
  • This Hybrid/Blended Schedule greatly minimizes our group size on campus and reduces class sizes inside classrooms.  Reducing the number of students on campus keeps households together, reduces congestion on campus, controls movement, and enhances our ability to social distance throughout the school day.   
  • The school day will begin each day at 7:50 a.m. and end at 1:00 p.m. Classes will be 40 minutes in duration. On-campus and remote/on-line students will follow the same schedule.  All students will be dismissed at 1:00 p.m. and will have the opportunity to receive a Grab-N-Go lunch from the high school Commons prior to leaving. 
  • Please refer to the following schedule for further details about your child’s school day:
Period:

Remote Login Time

Current Plan for Fall 2020

(Reopening)

In-person and options for Remote Learning 

If The State Requires Remote Learning Only

(ALL STUDENTS ONLINE ONLY)

(Default plan in the event of a resurgence of virus)

1  7:50-8:30 40 minute class period of synchronous instruction/learning.  

Students who are in-person and students who are home learning remotely at the same time.

Remote (from home) students are to login (via Google Meet) at the start of each class.  Attendance will be taken.  Video/verbal authentication will be required for attendance.

 

Instruction may be recorded for playback for those who are remote.

40 minute class periods divided for both synchronous and asynchronous instruction/learning.

(20 minutes of direct instruction of the lesson)

(20 minutes for office hours to assist students needing academic help)

Synchronous:  All students are to login (via Google Meet) at the start of each class.  Attendance will be taken.  Video/verbal authentication will be required for attendance.

Asynchronous:  Lessons to be recorded for those students needing to view later if their schedule does not allow them to view live. 

2  8:35-9:15
3  9:20-10:00
4  10:05-10:45
5  10:50-11:30
6  11:35-12:15
7  12:20-1:00
1:00 – 1:30 Staff (Duty Free) Lunch

Grab-N-Go Option for Students

(dismissal for students)

Staff (Duty Free) Lunch
1:30 – 3:20 Remote Learning Office Hours:

Tutoring and Academic Support

PD Sessions & Meetings for Faculty

Remote Learning Office Hours:

Time dedicated for Q & A Segment &/or Student-Teacher Conferences

Please visit the high school webpage or click on the link to review this year’s RHS Remote Learning Plan.

For questions & information on specific departments, contact our main office at 254-7550.

Upcoming Events

Below is a summary of upcoming events. 

More detailed information will be provided separately for each event.

Tuesday, August 4, 2020 Registration 

High School Main Office

8 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Thursday, August 13, 2020 Freshmen & New Student Orientation

An online presentation will be sent to each parent and available for viewing on our high school webpage and social media outlets.  

Freshmen & New Student families will be given directions to make an appointment to come to the high school campus to receive their schedules and tour the campus during the day between 10:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Week of August 10, 2020 Remote Learning ONLY Distribution

Those who registered for Remote Only will be able to pick up their Chromebook this week.  

Friday, August 21, 2020 First Day of School for Students Last Names M-Z

7:50 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Monday, August 24, 2020 First Day of School for Students Last Names A-L

7:50 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

At this time, we are still waiting on an update from the IHSA and ISBE regarding the status of interscholastic athletics.  Our athletic department will communicate with our student-athletes and families as decisions and updates are provided.

In closing, please understand this plan for reopening is fluid and subject to change at any given time based on State and ISBE requirements.  As always, please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or concerns regarding the start of the upcoming school year.  Deep breath.  We got this.  #ShellPride  #RoxanaStrong

Yours in Education,

Jason P. Dandurand

Jason Dandurand, Ed. S.  

Principal of Roxana High School

RHS Remote Learning Plan for 2020-21

Important Information for Reopening RHS for 2020-21

In-Person / Remote Learning for Grades 9-12

2020 – 2021 School Year

The 2020-21 School Year will open with in-person learning with families having the option to choose to be on Remote Learning. (Link to Remote Learning Registration)

RHS will reopen with Hybrid/Blended Schedule consisting of both in-person and remote learning.

  • Students with last names A – L will attend Monday & Thursday while students with last names M – Z are remote and in-person on Tuesday and Friday.  Wednesday will be a Remote Learning Day for all students.
  • This Hybrid/Blended Schedule will greatly minimize our group size on campus and in classrooms as well as reduce congestion, movement and improve our ability to social distance as necessary. 

The following procedures for Remote Learning will consist of:

  • Synchronous Learning – students will learn at the same time as students who are in-person.  Students on Remote Learning will be required to follow their schedule and “remote” in to each class throughout the day for attendance purposes each period and to learn (listen to lectures and complete assigned work to be submitted electronically).
  • Teachers may live stream or record their instruction while teaching their in-person students for students on Remote Learning.
    • All high school teachers for grades 9-12 will post assignments and lectures Monday through Friday, using Google Classroom.  Students are expected to log in via Google Meet to each class.
    • Remote Office Hours daily from 1:30 – 3:20 p.m Monday through Thursday and 1:30-2:40 Friday.  Any email sent after office hours will be answered the following school day.
    • Families opting for Remote Learning must commit for the quarter.  Families may not opt back and forth (day to day or week by week) between in-person and remote learning.
  • Deadline for Remote Learning registration:  Friday, July 31, 2020 
  • (Remote Learning Only option for Quarter 1:  August 21 through October 23)
    • Families must communicate whether they plan to return to in-person instruction or continue remotely for Quarter 2  by October 19th. 
  • Students opting for Remote Learning will be expected to complete all assigned work, and grades will be counted. Teachers plan to return to regular grading practices.  

In the event there is a resurgence of the virus, and there is a school closure requiring us to adopt Remote Learning with no in-person instruction, the following guidelines for workloads will be implemented:

  • Synchronous Learning – Students will have the ability to learn in real time by accessing the Google Meet each period for live instruction by the teacher.
  • Asynchronous Learning – Students may learn material at different times and locations by viewing the recorded lesson.  Instruction and learning may not happen at the same time.  This will be required to meet the needs of our students and families with extenuating circumstances.
  • The following schedule and student workloads will be adhered to:
Period:

Remote Login Time

Current Plan for Fall 2020

(Reopening)

In-person and options for Remote Learning 

If The State Requires Remote Learning Only

(ALL STUDENTS ONLINE ONLY)

(Default plan in the event of a resurgence of virus)

1  7:50-8:30 40 minute class period of synchronous instruction/learning.  

Students who are in-person and students who are home learning remotely at the same time.

Remote (from home) students are to login (via Google Meet) at the start of each class.  Attendance will be taken.  Video/verbal authentication will be required for attendance.

 

Instruction may be recorded for playback for those who are remote.

40 minute class periods divided for both synchronous and asynchronous instruction/learning.

(20 minutes of direct instruction of the lesson)

(20 minutes for office hours to assist students needing academic help)

Lessons to be recorded for those students needing to view later if their schedule does not allow them to view live. 

2  8:35-9:15
3  9:20-10:00
4  10:05-10:45
5  10:50-11:30
6  11:35-12:15
7  12:20-1:00
1:00 – 1:30 Staff (Duty Free) Lunch

Grab-N-Go Option for Students

(dismissal for students)

Staff (Duty Free) Lunch
1:30 – 3:20 Remote Learning Office Hours:

Tutoring and Academic Support

PD Sessions & Meetings for Faculty

Remote Learning Office Hours:

Time dedicated for Q & A Segment &/or Student-Teacher Conferences

  • Student Workload During Remote Learning:
Grade Level Minimum Maximum Recommended Length of Sustained Attention
9-12 Class:  20 minutes per day

Total:  120 minutes per day

Class:  45 minutes per day

Total: 270 minutes per day

1 subject area or class

Students with Individualized Educational Plans or 504 Plans will continue to receive academic supports via Special Education Remote Learning Plan 

For further support contact:

 

Grading and Assessment of Student Work
  • The ISBE encourages districts to return to regular grading practices.  
  • Grading practices prior to last year’s school closure will resume in 2020-21 and continue in the event there is a resurgence of the virus, resulting in another school closure.
  • Grades will be recorded and will impact students’ cumulative grade (positively or negatively) depending on the grade. 
  • The RHS Grades and Grading practices as outlined in the 2020-21 RHS Student Handbook will be applied and implemented for Remote Learning.  See Grades and Grading on page 18 of the RHS Student Handbook.
Roxana High School:  Staff Directory
Berardi, Mike (Science) mike.berardi@rcusd.org  Lish-Vazquez, Mamie (ELA) mamie.lish-vazquez@rcusd.org 
Briggs, Mark (PE) mark.briggs@rcusd.org  Littlejohn, Ellie (Spanish) ellie.littlejohn@rcusd.org 
Converse, Tim (Sp Ed) tim.converse@rcusd.org  Mifflin, Barb (Math) barb.mifflin@rcusd.org 
DeVries, Wade (Math) wade.devries@rcusd.org  Milazzo, Rob (Humanities) rob.milazzo@rcusd.org 
Dobson, Emily (PE) emily.dobson@rcusd.org  Montgomery, Laura (Humanities) laura.montgomery@rcusd.org 
Falloon, Erin (Choir) erin.falloon@rcusd.org  Netemeyer, Ryan (Math) ryan.netemeyer@rcusd.org 
Fleming, Julie (Science) julie.fleming@rcusd.org  Palen, Stephanie (CTE) stephanie.palen@rcusd.org 
Forsythe, Shelley (Sp Ed) shelley.forsythe@rcusd.org  Pare, Jeff (Health & Dr Ed) jeff.pare@rcusd.org 
Gowin, Andrew (CTE) andrew.gowin@rcusd.org  Robins, Amber (ELA) amber.robins@rcusd.org 
Griggs, Shelly (Math) shelly.griggs@rcusd.org  Royse, Laura (ELA) laura.royse@rcusd.org 
Hanneken, Amie (Science) amie.hanneken@rcusd.org  Sabaj, Nancy (Band) nancy.sabaj@rcusd.org 
Helling, Chris (Sp Ed) chris.helling@rcusd.org  Schrewe, Kristin (ELA) kristin.schrewe@rcusd.org 
Hellmann, Quinn (PE) quinn.hellmann@rcusd.org  Smay, Nathan (CTE nathan.smay@rcusd.org 
Holbrook, Tara (Sp Ed) tara.holbrook@rcusd.org  Turley, Kara (ELA) kara.turley@rcusd.org 
Jeffreys, Julia (Science) julia.jeffreys@rcusd.org  Hill, Thomas thomas.hill@rcusd.org 
Kasting, Brian (CTE) brian.kasting@rcusd.org  Wilhelm, Kristen (CTE) kristen.wilhelm@rcusd.org 
Kathriner, Mike (Art) michael.kathriner@rcusd.org  Wuest, Joe (CTE) joe.wuest@rcusd.org 
Kurth, Mary (CTE) mary.kurth@rcusd.org  Jernigan, Miranda (ELA) miranda.jernigan@rcusd.org 
Kurth, Mike (Humanities) mike.kurth@rcusd.org 
Roxana High School:  Staff Directory
Jason Dandurand (Principal) jason.dandurand@rcusd.org    Mike Rumsey                  (Assistant Principal)  mike.rumsey@rcusd.org 
Jenny Pointer (Secretary) jenny.pointer@rcusd.org    Stephanie Palmer (Attendance Secretary) stephanie.palmer@rcusd.org  
Jen Garrison          (Counselor A-L) jennifer.garrison@rcusd.org      Sherry Allen                 (Counselor M-Z) sherry.allen@rcusd.org  
Leslie Hazelwood-Rogers (Social Worker) leslie.hazelwood-rogers@rcusd.org    Minette Wilson                 (School Nurse)  minette.wilson@rcusd.org  

If you have questions or concerns regarding this matter, please feel free to contact the building principal:

Jason Dandurand, Ed. S.

Principal of Roxana High School

Office Number:  618.254.7550   

Email:  jason.dandurand@rcusd.org 

Click Here to Access the Full

Roxana Senior High School Reopening Plan

Click here to add your own text